“I don’t have a parachute” the problem Millenials face today

I have lived in the States only for four years. In these four years, I have became in the extreme example of what millenials face today. Right now, if you look up the YouTube statistics you will be able to see that a lot of views are going to Finance videos. Yes, we should be proud that our generation is being more open mind and educated about the topic. But the reason why that people view that video, the reason why someone recorded that video; is because we are struggling. We are in a hole that is going big and we are trying to make our way out. Intelligent of us doing something about it but, are we really able to? I work full time gaining a little bit better than minimum hour wage. I am a college student (full time in correspondence with the hours credit.) I live with my significant other. My salary is right to cover fixed expenses, maybe not the gas. I get at home after 8 hours in front a desktop computer to sit in front of a laptop and do homework. Yes, do homework because my time doesn’t allow me to study the lessons. Full of credit cards debt and an auto loan I got to do Uber. You should have into account Uber is a software. They used Microsoft for picture verification, the accuracy most be high but not perfect. I got my account deactivated because it failed to recognize my face, help support transfers you to nobody, bye bye side hustle. Now what? Start a blog? Done, start a YouTube channel? Done, sell your old clothes in Poshmark? Done, Make designs for tees? Done. The list goes on. No revenue, zero profit. Yes, keep the hard work and in a couple of months you will see results. Awesome but I need a couple of dollars now! Today! To fill my tank!

While I am able to keep my job I don’t think I will starve or don’t pay for rent. But, what if my position is not seen as necessary tomorrow. I don’t have a parachute. I don’t have a family to rely on. I don’t have someone to pay my bills. If tomorrow I lost my job I will have to return the car, leave the apartment, my credit score will fall more, my debt will increase, and if that happen just for a move in my life that means that even when I pay each fixed expense I am broke. I will be falling without a parachute knowing that at any time I will touch ground and I don’t know what that will be for me; death or miracle survive. I don’t know. I don’t want to have to know. That’s why I am one of those views in YouTube. Trying to find an answer to the question.

Now, I know about 401K, Roth IRA, RobinHood, flipping, budgeting, etc. Yes, it is good to know and do some of them if you can. Budgeting is pretty good, but no budgeting, no minimalism, no side hustle will change your low income and the amount of debt you face today. Not today. We don’t have a parachute, but maybe we got a long sleeves shirt or hoodie, that can help to lower the impact. Overthinking, planning, being tough with ourselves, being worried all the time; that doesn’t help. Please don’t die before touching the ground. Let’s learn how to skydive by ourselves.

Yes, I didn’t write this to solve the problem. I still looking for the solution. Let me know if you got one.

Sincerely,

AV 🎀

Leave a comment